Side by side (glowforge.com tech-specs pages, 2026-10-07)
| Spec | Pro | Plus | Aura | Spark |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Source | CO2, "45w"; "rated at 45 watts for Pro" | CO2, "40w"; "40 watts for Plus and Basic" | Diode, "6w" | Diode, "6w" |
| Laser class (quoted) | "The Glowforge Pro is a Class 4 laser device and comes with all necessary safety training materials"; "Class 4 laser product." | "The Glowforge Basic and Glowforge Plus are Class 1 laser devices with no special training required"; "Class 1 laser product." | not stated on fetched pages | not stated on fetched pages |
| Cutting area | "approx. 11″ (279 mm) deep and 19.5″ (495 mm) wide" | same | not stated on fetched pages | not stated on fetched pages |
| Material depth | "unlimited for Pro" (passthrough) | "18″ (455 mm) for Basic and Plus" | not stated | not stated |
| Passthrough | "Pro Passthrough slot allows the use of material that's up to 1/4″ (6.3mm) high, up to 20” (50.8cm) wide, and as long as desired" | not listed (material depth capped at 455 mm) | not listed | table row "Infinitely long prints with Passthrough" marks Spark (glowforge.com table) |
| Cut speed (relative) | "10x" | "6x" | "2x" | "1x" — "* Relative to Glowforge Spark speeds" |
| Camera | "Wide Angle Camera — Mounted on the lid"; table "Live camera view HD" | "Wide Angle Camera — Mounted on the lid" | not legible in fetched table | not legible in fetched table |
| Rotary | none listed | none listed | none listed | none listed |
| Software | web app; "JPG, PNG, SVG, PDF" | same | same | same |
| Cooling | "Enhanced cooling for all-day printing" | "Onboard liquid cooling" | "Onboard air cooling" | "Onboard air cooling" |
HD versions: the table on glowforge.com also lists Pro HD ("12x", 45w) and Plus HD ("8x", 40w); they are not yet rows in our data file.
The differences that are actually in the specs
- Laser class: Pro Class 4, Plus Class 1. Glowforge's own wording is quoted in the table. The Pro's passthrough slot is an opening in the housing; Glowforge pairs the Pro with "safety training materials". We add no interpretation; the two class statements are the manufacturer's.
- Tube power: 45 W vs 40 W, and relative cut speed 10x vs 6x (Spark = 1x). Glowforge does not publish absolute mm/s.
- Passthrough: Pro yes (6.3 mm × 50.8 cm slot, "as long as desired"); Spark marked yes in the overview table; Plus and Aura not listed.
- Source type: CO2 (Pro, Plus) vs 6 W diode (Aura, Spark). See Diode vs CO2 vs Fiber.
- Cutting area stated only for the CO2 pair (495 × 279 mm). Aura and Spark cells stay empty until Glowforge's page states a size.
What stays the same
Web app on all four; no manufacturer-listed rotary accessory on any (negative evidence). If a rotary is a requirement, see the tumbler and rotary guide.
Who should pick which (spec-based)
| Need | Spec | Points to |
|---|---|---|
| Material longer than 455 mm | Pro passthrough, "unlimited" depth | Pro (stated Class 4) |
| CO2 with stated Class 1 | "Class 1 laser product." | Plus |
| Diode with passthrough | overview table row | Spark |
| Diode without passthrough | — | Aura |
| Rotary engraving | none listed | none of the four |
Questions
Is the Pro faster than the Plus?
Glowforge states "10x" vs "6x" relative to the Spark. No mm/s value is published, so we do not rank by absolute speed.
Why is the Pro Class 4 and the Plus Class 1?
We quote the manufacturer's statements only; Glowforge does not explain the classification on the fetched page.
What is the Aura/Spark cutting area?
Not stated on the fetched tech-specs pages (2026-10-07).
Read next
Glowforge Pro spec sheet · Comparison table · Enclosed laser engravers shortlist
Sources
- glowforge.com/b/tech-specs (2026-10-07, high) — overview table: power, cut speed multipliers, laser type, camera, passthrough, cooling
- ecomm-core-production.glowforge.com/tech-specs (2026-10-07, high) — class statements, cutting area, passthrough slot, material depth, cameras