Shortlist by spec

Enclosed Laser Engravers Compared: Manufacturer Class Statements for Small Spaces

An enclosed machine keeps the beam, the smoke and most of the noise inside a housing. For an apartment or a shared room the spec-sheet questions are: is it enclosed as sold, what laser class does the maker state, what exhaust hardware is stated, and what is the footprint. This page lists only manufacturer statements. We give no safety advice.

Compact enclosed laser engraver on an apartment desk with an exhaust duct leading to a window.
Illustrative

A. Enclosed as sold with a stated Class 1 (manufacturer text, 2026-10-07)

ModelType / powerWork area (mm)Stated class (quoted)PassthroughConfidence
Creality Falcon2 Prodiode 22/40/60 W400 × 400"FDA Class 1 Safety Certified: A fully enclosed professional workspace"not statedhigh
xTool S1diode 20/40 W498 × 319 (40 W); 498 × 330 (20 W)"Class 1 Safety""AutoPassthrough™"high
Glowforge PlusCO2 40 W495 × 279"The Glowforge Basic and Glowforge Plus are Class 1 laser devices"not listedhigh
Sculpfun E1 Prodiode 21 W (+3 W IR option)400 × 320"complies with Class 1 laser safety standard[s]"not statedhigh
Creality Falcon A1Cdiode 5/10 Wnot stated"Class 1 Safety Protection"not statedhigh

Five rows. Order: by stated work area, largest first — Falcon2 Pro 160,000 mm², S1 158,862 mm², Plus 138,105 mm², E1 Pro 128,000 mm², A1C not stated (our arithmetic from stated dimensions); not a ranking.

Laser product class ladder from Class 1 to Class 4 with brief hazard descriptions.
Illustrative diagram

Where to buy: enclosed, stated Class 1

Amazon listings checked on 2026-10-09 for three machines from list A. The specs in each card come from the manufacturer pages, not from the listing.

xTool

S1 40W

Enclosed diode
Power
40 WHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
Work area
498 × 319 mmHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
Enclosed
yesHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
Laser class
Class 1High confidence: read on the manufacturer page

Affiliate link. We don't show prices: they change daily.

Creality

Falcon A1C 10W

Compact enclosed
Power
10 WHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
Work area
not stated
Enclosed
yesHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
Laser class
Class 1High confidence: read on the manufacturer page

Affiliate link. We don't show prices: they change daily.

Creality

Falcon2 Pro 60W+1.6W

Enclosed diode
Power
60 WHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
Work area
400 × 400 mmHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
Enclosed
yesHigh confidence: read on the manufacturer page
Laser class
Class 1 (FDA)High confidence: read on the manufacturer page

Affiliate link. We don't show prices: they change daily.

B. Enclosed as sold, class not stated or stated as Class 4

ModelType / powerWork area (mm)Class statementPassthrough / exhaust as statedConfidence
Glowforge ProCO2 45 W495 × 279"The Glowforge Pro is a Class 4 laser device and comes with all necessary safety training materials""Pro Passthrough slot … up to 1/4″ (6.3mm) high"high — not a Class 1 machine per manufacturer
OMTech Polar Lite 55WCO2 55 W510 × 300not stated"Front & Rear Pass-Through: 15.8 x 0.3 in. (400×7 mm)"; "Air Flow: 282 cfm (480 m³/h)"; "built-in water chiller"; "fully enclosed, sleek desktop frame"high
xTool F1 Ultrafiber 20 W + diode 20 W (galvo)220 × 220not stated"The fully enclosed cover blocks the harmful light of both the 455nm diode laser and the Fiber"; smoke extraction statedhigh
Glowforge Auradiode 6 Wnot statednot statednot listedhigh
Glowforge Sparkdiode 6 Wnot statednot statedoverview table marks passthroughhigh
Sculpfun E1diode 12 W400 × 320not statednot statedhigh
Monport Reno 45WCO2 45/65 W406 × 305 (16 × 12 in, converted)not statednot stated (product JSON body empty)enclosure not verbatim

Not in either list — enclosure not stated verbatim: Gweike Cloud 50W Pro II (JSON states "1. Built-in Water Chiller, ≤70dB 2. Air Exhaust Fan, ≤70dB 3. Built-in Air Compressor, ≤70dB" but not the word "enclosed"). Open-frame with optional enclosure: AtomStack A24 Pro ("FB2 Enclosure"), Ortur Laser Master 3 ("Enclosure 2.0"), Sculpfun G20, LaserPecker LP5/LP4. Pending verification: xTool P2S.

Four specs that matter in a small room

  1. Stated class. Five rows carry a manufacturer Class 1 statement (list A). The Glowforge Pro carries a Class 4 statement from its manufacturer and is therefore listed in B, not A. An empty cell means "not stated", not "unsafe"; we do not infer a class from an enclosure. Definitions: FDA 21 CFR 1040.10; IEC 60825-1 (published by the IEC, iec.ch).
  2. Exhaust. Stated verbatim only by OMTech ("Air Flow: 282 cfm (480 m³/h)"), Gweike ("Air Exhaust Fan, ≤70dB") and Glowforge ("Ventilation with either the Glowforge Compact Filter, or an open-able window within 8 feet"). For every other model the duct or filter arrangement must be read on the manufacturer's accessory pages; we make no statement about indoor air quality.
  3. Footprint. Stated for Glowforge ("38″ x 20.75″ x 8.25″ (965mm x 527mm x 210mm)") and OMTech (package 1180 × 650 × 375 mm); footprint_mm field planned for all rows.
  4. Passthrough. An enclosed machine with a passthrough slot (S1, OMTech Polar Lite, Glowforge Pro, Spark) has an opening by design. How each manufacturer treats class with the slot is for the manufacturer's text, quoted where it exists (Glowforge: Pro = Class 4; the fetched OMTech and xTool pages do not state a class).

Material note

Several manufacturers publish lists of materials not to process. This site will quote those lists per model on the spec sheets, with the source, and will not add its own list.

Questions

Does "enclosed" mean "Class 1"?

No. Glowforge sells the Pro enclosed and states Class 4 for it. "Class 1" appears on this site only where the manufacturer states it, quoted.

Which enclosed units state a passthrough?

xTool S1 ("AutoPassthrough™"), OMTech Polar Lite ("Front & Rear Pass-Through: 15.8 x 0.3 in. (400×7 mm)"), Glowforge Pro (slot), Glowforge Spark (overview table).

Which has the largest stated work area among enclosed units?

Creality Falcon2 Pro, 400 × 400 mm = 160,000 mm²; then xTool S1 40W, 498 × 319 = 158,862 mm²; then OMTech Polar Lite, 510 × 300 = 153,000 mm² (our arithmetic from stated dimensions).

Comparison table · xTool S1 vs Creality Falcon2 Pro · Glowforge Pro vs Plus vs Aura vs Spark · Work area calculator

Sources

Manufacturer pages read on 2026-10-07: Glowforge tech specs, OMTech Polar Lite, xTool S1, xTool F1 Ultra, Creality Falcon2 Pro, Creality Falcon A1C, Sculpfun E1 Pro, Gweike Cloud 50W Pro II. Per-model enclosure, class and passthrough sources: comparison table.