X vs Y · by the numbers

Glowforge Pro vs Plus vs Aura vs Spark: What Actually Changes Between Models

Glowforge sells CO2 machines (Pro, Plus, and HD versions of each) and two diode machines (Aura, Spark). All run from the same web app. This page lists what the manufacturer's tech-specs pages state for each, including the one difference that matters most: the Pro is stated as a Class 4 laser product, the Plus as Class 1.

Side by side (glowforge.com tech-specs pages, 2026-10-07)

SpecProPlusAuraSpark
SourceCO2, "45w"; "rated at 45 watts for Pro"CO2, "40w"; "40 watts for Plus and Basic"Diode, "6w"Diode, "6w"
Laser class (quoted)"The Glowforge Pro is a Class 4 laser device and comes with all necessary safety training materials"; "Class 4 laser product.""The Glowforge Basic and Glowforge Plus are Class 1 laser devices with no special training required"; "Class 1 laser product."not stated on fetched pagesnot stated on fetched pages
Cutting area"approx. 11″ (279 mm) deep and 19.5″ (495 mm) wide"samenot stated on fetched pagesnot stated on fetched pages
Material depth"unlimited for Pro" (passthrough)"18″ (455 mm) for Basic and Plus"not statednot stated
Passthrough"Pro Passthrough slot allows the use of material that's up to 1/4″ (6.3mm) high, up to 20” (50.8cm) wide, and as long as desired"not listed (material depth capped at 455 mm)not listedtable row "Infinitely long prints with Passthrough" marks Spark (glowforge.com table)
Cut speed (relative)"10x""6x""2x""1x" — "* Relative to Glowforge Spark speeds"
Camera"Wide Angle Camera — Mounted on the lid"; table "Live camera view HD""Wide Angle Camera — Mounted on the lid"not legible in fetched tablenot legible in fetched table
Rotarynone listednone listednone listednone listed
Softwareweb app; "JPG, PNG, SVG, PDF"samesamesame
Cooling"Enhanced cooling for all-day printing""Onboard liquid cooling""Onboard air cooling""Onboard air cooling"

HD versions: the table on glowforge.com also lists Pro HD ("12x", 45w) and Plus HD ("8x", 40w); they are not yet rows in our data file.

The differences that are actually in the specs

  1. Laser class: Pro Class 4, Plus Class 1. Glowforge's own wording is quoted in the table. The Pro's passthrough slot is an opening in the housing; Glowforge pairs the Pro with "safety training materials". We add no interpretation; the two class statements are the manufacturer's.
  2. Tube power: 45 W vs 40 W, and relative cut speed 10x vs 6x (Spark = 1x). Glowforge does not publish absolute mm/s.
  3. Passthrough: Pro yes (6.3 mm × 50.8 cm slot, "as long as desired"); Spark marked yes in the overview table; Plus and Aura not listed.
  4. Source type: CO2 (Pro, Plus) vs 6 W diode (Aura, Spark). See Diode vs CO2 vs Fiber.
  5. Cutting area stated only for the CO2 pair (495 × 279 mm). Aura and Spark cells stay empty until Glowforge's page states a size.

What stays the same

Web app on all four; no manufacturer-listed rotary accessory on any (negative evidence). If a rotary is a requirement, see the tumbler and rotary guide.

Who should pick which (spec-based)

NeedSpecPoints to
Material longer than 455 mmPro passthrough, "unlimited" depthPro (stated Class 4)
CO2 with stated Class 1"Class 1 laser product."Plus
Diode with passthroughoverview table rowSpark
Diode without passthrough—Aura
Rotary engravingnone listednone of the four

Questions

Is the Pro faster than the Plus?

Glowforge states "10x" vs "6x" relative to the Spark. No mm/s value is published, so we do not rank by absolute speed.

Why is the Pro Class 4 and the Plus Class 1?

We quote the manufacturer's statements only; Glowforge does not explain the classification on the fetched page.

What is the Aura/Spark cutting area?

Not stated on the fetched tech-specs pages (2026-10-07).

Glowforge Pro spec sheet · Comparison table · Enclosed laser engravers shortlist

Sources